Because He’s 9 Going On 10

That red-headed kid has always been a very easy kid to raise.   He is still pretty easy, as 9-going-on-10-year-olds go. 

Except for the silly, possibly annoying, kind of crazy behavior he’s been sporting lately.

This morning, I was trying to have a serious conversation with him.  I made several attempts but he was laughing in a crazy way, giving me silly answers, possibly being annoying. 

I gave up and faced the issue with some humor.

“You know what?”, I said.  “I’m going to poke both your eyes out and when they fall on the floor?  I’m going to step on them!”

Then I told him to have a good day and left for work.

Um, yeah, pretty much NOT what I ever expected to say to him one day when I first looked into his dear little face nearly ten years ago.

One response to “Because He’s 9 Going On 10

  1. Glad you’re back, Jan. Happy Birthday to my youngest grandkid. Little red headed man, you have a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

