Hard Boiled Eggs

I love hard boiled eggs.  Plain, boring hard boiled eggs ,as my husband would say.  I’ve eaten them for as long as I can remember.  My mom used to send me off to school with an egg and a tiny shaker of Morton salt in my lunch box.  When I opened that lunch box at lunch time, I felt so glad to see that tiny salt shaker.  Everyone wanted to be me on those days so they could have a tiny shaker like that, I was sure of it. 

When I was out in the world, living on my own, I never made hard boiled eggs for myself.  That whole boil, simmer, cooling off process seemed to take way more time than I had in my busy schedule.  When I visited my mom and looked in her refrigerator, there was always a bowl of 3-5 hard cooked eggs, just waiting to be eaten.  I would ask my mom if I could have one and she would always say the same thing:  “Sure, Honey, you can have anything you want in there.”

My boy was born loving hard boiled eggs.  I told myself I was a mom now, I had to make time to cook  my boy hard boiled eggs.  But I wasn’t consistent, even for him.  He would say,  “Remember that time we had hard boiled eggs?  I wish you could do that again”, like he was talking about some long ago trip to Disneyland.  I’m not a mom who feels guilty very often but the lack of eggs in my son’s life made me feel a little inadequate as a mother.  When we would go to visit my mom, I’d tell my son,  “She’ll have eggs. ”  But it wasn’t the same as having our own eggs.

Then, over the last year or so, I’m not sure why but things changed in our house.  I started cooking hard boiled eggs all the time.  I made sure there were  (almost) always 3-5 cooked eggs in a bowl in the refrigerator.  My boy would ask on a random day if we had any eggs and I could say,  “Yes!  We have eggs!”   Sometimes, we would run out and a day or so would pass without any eggs, but then I got a great idea.  When I took the last egg, I would leave the empty bowl out on the counter to remind me to make more eggs.  If you know my mom, you know that this is probably exactly what she does to make sure she always has eggs in her fridge.

And you know what that means? 

I have become my mother. 

I knew it would happen one day.

2 responses to “Hard Boiled Eggs

  1. Who knew that a tiny salt shaker could leave such a pleasant memory in a small girl’s childhood. Yes, when the last egg is gone I take the little dish and leave it on the counter to remind me fill it up again. And so it moves down the latter, generation after generation will have hard cooked eggs in their refrigerator, a tradition.

  2. Now I do not make the famous hard boil egg but only because my husband does not like them smell of them in the refrigerator. I would probably do the same thing though. And yes, I use to love that little salt shaker.

Leave a Reply

