A Day For New Shoes

The first day of school almost always means new shoes.  Often it means new haircuts and backpacks, too.  But, if nothing else, the shoes are almost always new.

Today, I saw enough new shoes to fill a shoe store.  No, not a shoe store, a shoe WAREHOUSE.

Really, there were just that many new shoes.

The great part was that those new shoes were on feet belonging to a whole bunch of kids.  I am back to spending my day with kids and it is lovely.   Of course, I love the days of summer with my boy, but I never mind the start of a new school year.  The boy has to go to school, too, and it’s time for me to get back to one of the things I do best:  help kids learn.

This week, I am taking a break from the Reading Lab to help in a kindergarten classroom.  The first week of kindergarten is always challenging and the teachers need all the help they can get.  There are really no words to describe how glad I am to be in this kindergarten classroom.  This is the age group I was with for many years before working in the Reading Lab.  I feel like I am home.

And kindergarteners?  Are freakin’ hilarious!  You can never be sad for long in a room full of five year olds.

After snack/recess, the kids were back on the rug for a story.  It was probably five minutes before the teacher stopped reading suddenly and told a small girl,  “Please go put your apples away.” 

There was this girl, holding a not-so-small container (guess her mom thought she could possibly starve before 2 p.m.) on her lap, just munching away on her apples.  Because that seemed like a good idea to her.

It’s great to be five.

I’ll head back tomorrow, ready to laugh some more. 

The shoes might have a few scuffs, but they’ll still be worn by my favorite kind of people:  kids.

2 responses to “A Day For New Shoes

  1. Hard to believe it is time for the start of another school year already. It doesn’t begin here until Aug. 25, but that will be here before I know it.
    My youngest is starting high school this year!
    Where does the time go?

  2. Love this! I just started a job where I’ll be around students, too. The adult variety…a university. And I love that feeling, too. It’s energizing!! Thanks for the beautiful mental picture of a little girl, enjoying her story time with a (large) snack!

Leave a Reply

